soap making

Campfire Soap

Black cold process soap with marshmallow embeds on top and fire effect
Campfire Soap

I love chocolate and I love smores. There is something about a warm soft marshmallow with chocolate sandwiched in a graham cracker that is irresistible. It might be the only time when I do not mind eating a Hershey chocolate. I would prefer a less crunchy cookie though.

S’mores is supposed to be an abbreviation to “Some more” as in, you want “some more” s’mores.

This soap was sadly not successful in the design execution. It was supposed to be a pointy layer technique, but I got not points! It was a shame, as calculating the right amount of soap batter for each layer was a very precise exercise. But I guess you cannot always win.

I needed a fragrance that did not accelerate, and given that I did not have any, I bought Energy, from Wholesale Supplies. I found it sweeter than I prefer, candy like actually. My nephew and niece thought it smelled like Nerds candy.

Campfire Marshmallow soap

Here is the recipe link.

This was my Colorant mix:

  • 1.5 teaspoons of black oxide (this might have been too much) . Dispersed in 28 oz of soap batter
  • 1 teaspoon of really red dispersed in 8 oz of soap batter
  • 1/8 teaspoon of yellow lake dispersed in 5.4 oz of soap batter
  • 1/16 teaspoon of orange mica (this was too little) dispersed in 3.6 oz of soap batter

How I calculated the amounts needed:

This is where you can buy these colorants:

Really red mica from Nurture Soap (Nurture soap aff link)

Black Oxide (Nurture Soap aff link)

Yellow lake from TKB trading

Orange Vibrance Mica (Nurture soap aff link)

And for this soap I used the 8″ Silicone Mold (amazon aff link) and I also used Rosemary Oleoresin, which is supposed to help prevent DOS (dreaded orange spots) as demonstrated in this experiment by Kevin Dunn. Also included EDTA and Sodium Lactate.

You can watch the making of it here:

2 thoughts on “Campfire Soap”

Leave a comment